Lessons from Florence Foster Jenkins.

“People may say I can’t sing, but no one can ever say I didn’t sing.”

Watched the movie Florence Foster Jenkins starring Meryl Streep and Hugh Grant this week. More tragic than comedic than I was expecting, given that my familiarity with the real Florence Foster Jenkins was through YouTube uploads of her recordings, but that perhaps made it a better film than I was expecting.

I find confident artists of questionable quality fascinating, perhaps because I can only dream of having so much confidence in my endeavors. There is something admirable in their perseverance.

Pursuing these things for the love of them—that’s what I’m trying to do. Not to be the very best (like no one ever was), not fueled by comparison to others. Florence Foster Jenkins clearly loved what she did, and though her singing is hard not to crack a smile at, isn’t her dedication and sincerity what ultimately draws us in?

Leave a Reply

